

ØIEEE



General Chair Kevin M. Walsh

University of Louisville (502) 852-0826 walsh@louisville.edu

Organizing Committee

Mark Crain, Louisville Robert Keynton, Louisville Shamus McNamara, Louisville

Technical Committee includes:

Bill Flounders, UC Berkeley Eric Martin, Harvard John Shott, Stanford David Parent, San Jose State Greg Cibuzar, Minnesota Robert Pearson, RIT Jack Judy, UCLA James Davidson, Vanderbilt Stephen Parke, Tenn Tech Jason Heikenfeld, Cincinnati Bedri A. Cetiner, Utah State Bruce Hinds, Kentucky Zhi Chen, Kentucky Bruce Alphenaar, Louisville Cindy Harnett, Louisville Lynn Fuller, RIT Michael Simpson, ORNL Laura Morris Edwards, ORNL Marcus Spiker, Navy / EG&G Rekha Pai, NRL Carl Sullivan, Lexmark Jeff Banker, Midwest Micro Devices Tim Betzner, Delphi CV Pham, Teledyne Robert Cohn, Louisville Peter Ye, Purdue John Weaver, Purdue Vijay Singh, Kentucky John Leon, Irvine Sensors Yogesh Gianchandani, U. Michigan Franco Cerrina, U. Wisconsin

17th Biennial University Government Industry Micro/nano Symposium

Louisville, KY July 13 – July 16, 2008

The purpose of this symposium is to bring together leading educators and researchers from university, government, and industry around the world to promote the various exciting fields of micro/nanotechnology. Representatives of university micro/nano fabrication facilities, ranging from new start-up labs to nationally recognized facilities, have found this symposium an excellent forum for exchanging information and presenting new research and educational concepts. Government agencies such as NSF, NIH, NIST, SEMATECH, SRC, DoD and ONR regularly participate with research papers and updates on funding opportunities. Industry interactions with universities, including technology transfer, collaborative research, and training efforts are frequently presented.

Scope of the UGIM symposium includes:

- New Initiatives in University micro/nano programs, courses, laboratories, technology transfer, and industry interaction
- Government-University micro/nano research programs
- Micro/nano research projects in the areas of devices, materials, simulation, design, processing, testing, and reliability
- · Process development, manufacturing, statistical process control and design of experiments
- MEMS and microelectronic programs, courses, applications, processing, interactions, and research
- Standard silicon and compound semiconductors
- Bioengineering and biotechnology activities related to micro/nanotechnology
- Nanotechnology and nanofabrication
- Metrology, sensors and actuators
- University micro/nano research facilities and their operation
- Industry efforts in micro/nanotechnology including technology transfer

Keynote Speakers Include:

Abbie Gregg, President of AGI (Abbie Gregg, Inc.) Abbie Gregg is president of AGI which is recognized as one of the leading cleanroom and engineering consulting firms in the world

Dr. Stephen Campbell, Professor of ECE, University of Minnesota

Dr. Campbell is Director of the Minnesota Nano Fabrication Center and author of the popular engineering text <u>The Science and Engineering of Microelectronic Fabrication</u>

Dr. Rajinder Khosla, National Science Foundation Program Director Dr. Khosla is the director of the Electronics, Photonics, and Device Technology (EPDT) and Integrative Systems (IS) Programs in the Electrical and Communications Systems (ECS) Division

Dr. Mark Lundstrom, Professor of ECE, Purdue University

Dr. Lundstrom is the founding director of the national NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology.

For more information please visit: http://louisville.edu/conference/ugim2008